fi·nan·cial

–adjective

1. pertaining to monetary receipts and expenditures; pertaining or relating to money matters; pecuniary: financial operations.

2. of or pertaining to those commonly engaged in dealing with money and credit.

 

sa·voir-faire

–noun

1. knowledge of just what to do in any situation; tact

2. the ability to say or do the right or graceful thing.

 

I don’t claim to be any sort of financial expert, but I’ve always just understood the fundamentals of finances in a way many around me have not. This is something I’m grateful for, but also flabbergasted by. I was not raised with many financial values, nor do I have any formal training in finance. Much of my family and friends are up to their eyeballs in debt and virtually no one around me has had any sort of education on why this is dangerous – and also completely avoidable.

 

That being said, I have the same issues as most women in my situation. I’ve come out of college with some debt, and some serious financial temptations. I’ve had a taste of the “real world”, that is the working world, and along the way I’ve gained some insight into how young women handle their money. This is my attempt share my financial knowledge, experiences, missteps, struggles, observations, and questions with others, particularly young women. We live in a time when women are both more financially responsible for themselves and their families, and also often financially ignorant, by no fault of their own. I hope to create a springboard for financial conversations for les femmes!

 

Please check back with me…there is more to come…

